All-City boys and girls basketball teams announced – Daily News

Support our high school sports coverage by becoming a digital subscriber. Subscribe now.

The City Section released the All-City Selections for boys’ and girls’ basketball this week.

In men’s basketball, selections for the Open Division team included Taft’s AJ Johnson and Keyon Kensie, Birmingham Charter’s Kory Blunt and Larry Olayinka, and El Camino Real’s Clark Holden and Karson Peffer.

King Drew’s Kalib LaCount and Fairfax’s Tyler Bey were named co-players of the year. Venice’s David Galley and Fairfax’s Reggie Morris were named co-coaches of the year.

Grant’s Jeremiah Windham was named Division I Player of the Year. Lancers coach Tarek Abdelsameia was named Coach of the Year after guiding the program to their first City title.

The All-City Division I team included Byron Mendez and Obed Vega of Grant, Tim Lopez and Jamaal Unuakhalu of Chatsworth and Khalil Forrester of Granada Hills.

In Division II, Van Nuys’ Andrew Angulo, Jacob Eddy-Watkins and Josh Molina, and Cleveland’s Aaron Petch were named to the All-City Team.



Birmingham Charter senior Janna Holley has been named Open Division Player of the Year.

Her teammates Dee Dee Berry and Mia Calderon were named to the Open Division All-City team, along with Marianne Boco and Calista Arzaga of Granada Hills.

El Camino Real’s Audrey Quintana has been named Division I Player of the Year after leading ECR to the City crown.

ECR’s Grace Marot and Gianna Pitts were also selected to the Division I All-City team, along with Taft’s Faith Gibbs, Evelyn Birau and Addison Keenan.

Birmingham’s Victor Koopongsakorn has been named Open Division Coach of the Year. ECR’s Rai Colston was named Division I Coach of the Year.

Verdugo Hills junior Nicole Vanegas has been named Division II Player of the Year. Dons coach Kevin Peterson-Henry has been named Division II Coach of the Year.