Knox News All-PrepXtra girls high school basketball teams for 2022

All six members of the Knox News All-PrepXtra High School Girls’ First Team are nominated for Player of the Year. The winner will be announced at the Knoxville High School Sports Awards presented by Farm Bureau Health Plans in the spring. More details on the program to come soon.

first team

Sarah Burton

Clinton, Sr.

Why chosen: The UVA-Wise signee and Miss Basketball 3A runner-up surpassed 2,000 career points and broke Clinton’s all-time record. She averaged 26.5 points, eight rebounds and 2.3 steals.

Sydney area

Catholic of Knoxville, So.

Why chosen: Mains was named a Division II-AA Miss Basketball runner-up, averaging 21.4 points, 7.5 rebounds and 3.4 steals.

Avery Strickland

Farragut, Sr.

Why chosen: Strickland, a Power 5 prospect, averaged 17.8 points, 6.3 rebounds and 1.5 steals. She helped lead Farragut to his first state championship game and was named to the All-State Team of the Tournament.

COLUMN:Why TSSAA Should Limit Tennessee High School Basketball State Tournament to Final Four | Kreager

FINAL RANKINGS BY STATE:Tennessee Super 25 High School Girls final standings for the 2021-22 season

BASKETBALL BEARDEN GIRLS:Transfers reunited with second state title shot helps Bearden women’s basketball win first championship

Jennifer Sullivan

Bearden, Sr.

Why chosen: The Tennessee Tech signee was named Class 4A Miss Basketball and helped Bearden win her first state championship. She averaged 15 points, five assists and four rebounds and surpassed 2,000 career points.

Avery Treadwell

Bearden, Jr.

Why chosen: Treadwell has surpassed 1,000 career points and is averaging 15 points, 10 rebounds and three blocks. She was named State Tournament MVP and District 4-4A Regular Season MVP.

Reagan Trumm

Powell, Sr.

Why chosen: The West Carolina signee surpassed 2,000 career points and broke Powell’s all-time record. She averaged 25 points, five rebounds and two steals.

Knoxville High School Athletic Awards

second team

Lauren Bailey, Greenville, Jr.

Keira Leffew, CAK, Jr.

Maddy Newman, Gatlinburg-Pittman, So.

Gracie Palmer, Berean Christian, Sr.

Keeleigh Rogers, Farragut, Sr.

Sammy Taylor, Fulton, So.

Third team

Bailey Burgess, Bearden, Sr.

Semaj Clark, Oak Ridge, Sr.

Emily Gonzalez, Bearden, Sr.

Madi Hawk, Lakeway Christian, So.

Karli Haworth, Alcoa, Jr.

Molly Masingale, McMinn Central, So.

Coach of the year

Justin Underwood


Why chosen: Underwood led Bearden to the program’s first state title in his first appearance in a championship game. The Bulldogs finished the season 36-3 and lost to only one opponent in the state – Division II-AA state champion Ensworth.

Contact Emily Adams at [email protected] or on Twitter @eaadams6.