Top 10 high school basketball teams in Maryland since 2000

The DMV area is well known for its basketball prowess and programs like DeMatha and Montrose Christian have illustrated why, featuring nine of the top 10 teams in the state of Maryland since 2000.

Old Line State produced the National High School Invitational champion in 2010-11 as Montrose Christian went 25-1 en route to a national top five.

That got us wondering where Montrose Christian ranks against the best teams in the state since the turn of the century. By evaluating resumes, national rankings and roster talent, we’ve put together a list of Indiana’s top teams since 2000. See the full breakdown below.

File photo of Mike Braca

Hunter Dickinson steps into the position during his junior season with DeMatha.

Top 10 Maryland teams since 2000

Registration: 25-1

National ranking: Number 4

Notable players: Carmelo Betancourt, Justin Anderson, Michael Carrera, Kevin Larsen, Tyrone Johnson

Tiredness: Captured the 2011 National High School Invitational after defeating Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, Va.) 71-64 in a double overtime championship thriller. Johnson scored a team-high 21 points and Carrera had 20 points and 11 rebounds while Anderson knocked down a 3-pointer with 2.5 seconds left in overtime to force the second overtime session. Montrose Christian closed two seasons later in 2013.

Registration: Number 4

National Ranking: 34-1

Notable players: Chris Braswell, Mike Foster, Jerai Grant, Adrian Miles, Nigel Munson

Tiredness: Defeated previously undefeated Mount St. Joseph 70-55 in the Alhambra Catholic Invitational title match, punctuated by a record 18 points from tournament MVP Munson. Sophomore Braswell contributed 12 points and eight rebounds off the bench. After trailing 46-45 heading into the fourth quarter, the Stags opened the final period on a 9-2 run before heading to a signing victory.

3. Montrose Christian 2005-06

Registration: 20-2

National ranking: No. 9

Notable players: Adrian Bowie, Troy Brewer, Kevin Durant, Taishi Ito, Greivis Vasquez

This team is perhaps the most talented team of the 2000s, with a stacked roster led by Durant and Vasquez. After starting the season at No. 1 in the preseason poll, they suffered two losses before a meeting with top-ranked Oak Hill Academy, which was riding a 56-game winning streak. Montrose knocked out Oak Hill 74-72 in a match recognized as one of the greatest in DMV history.

4. De Matha 2019-20

Registration: 30-3

National ranking: #5

Notable players: Hunter Dickinson, Elijah Hawkins, Jordan Hawkins, Earl Timberlake Jr., Tyrell Ward

Tiredness: Seniors Dickinson and Timberlake led the Stags to elite success in their final three years with the program, leading the program to a 95-13 record against tough national competition with three straight top-10 finishes at national scale. After starting the year 4-2 following a pair of losses to the top five opponents, the Stags have won 26 of their last 27 games to end the season with the WCAC crown.

5. De Matha 2004-05

Registration: 29-2

National ranking: No. 9

Notable players: Jeff Allen, Mamadi Diane, Austin Freeman, Jason Green, Nigel Munson

Tiredness: Under third-year head coach Mike Jones, the Stags captured their first league title since legendary head coach Morgan Wootten retired in 2002. DeMatha finished the regular season 13-0 in the WCAC game before winning the WCAC Tournament and the City Title Championship. This group was led by first-team All-Met Diane, second-team All-Met Munson and third-team All-Met Freeman.

6. Montrose Christian 2002-03

Registration: 20-1

National ranking: No. 9

Notable players: Troy Hailey, Linas Kleiza, Arvydas Lidzius, Fred Robinson, Joe Young

All-Met Player of the Year Kleiza had a dominant senior campaign, averaging 20.5 points and 12.2 rebounds to lead a senior-laden field to a national top 10. Kleiza exploded for 28 points and 17 rebounds in a 73-65 victory over Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, Va.). Hailey, Lidzius, Robinson and Young were all seniors who went on to play in Division I colleges.

7. De Matha 2008-09

Registration: 31-4

National ranking: No. 10

Notable players: Quinn Cook, Naji Hibbert, Victor Oladipo, Marcus Rouse, Josh Selby

Tiredness: An ultra-talented roster featured an embarrassment of riches as a loaded backcourt was headlined by third-team All-Met selections Hibbert and Cook. Along with Cook, future NBA talent on the roster included juniors Jerian Grant, Oladipo and Selby as well as then-freshman Jerami Grant. DeMatha went on to win the WCAC Regular Season and Tournament Championships.

Registration: 38-1

National ranking: No. 8

Notable players: Chase Adams, Louis Birdsong, Dejuan Goodwin, Dino Gregory, Kevin Swecker

Entered the Alhambra Invitational Catholic Tournament title match undefeated before falling to DeMatha 70-55. All-Metro Player of the Year Birdsong averaged 12.2 points, 8.5 rebounds and two blocks while All-Metro First Team selection Goodwin averaged 12.2 points, 4.1 rebounds and 3.4 assists to form a solid double. The Gaels set state records for single-season wins and most consecutive single-season wins.

9. De Matha 2018-19

Registration: 33-5

National ranking: No. 10

Notable players: Hunter Dickinson, Carsten Kogelnik, Justin Moore, Paul Smith, Earl Timberlake Jr.

Tiredness: Returned his entire start from a team that finished No. 6 in the national standings. Although the Stags were upset in the WCAC Tournament semi-finals, they finished tied for the top of the WCAC regular season standings. DeMatha swept his season streak with co-champion WCAC St. Paul VI (Chantilly, Va.) 3-0 after beating the Panthers in the Alhambra Catholic Invitational Tournament title game.

10. De Matha 2017-18

Registration: 32-5

National ranking: Number 6

Notable players: Hunter Dickinson, Carsten Kogelnik, Justin Moore, Paul Smith, Earl Timberlake Jr.

Tiredness: A youthful core did not feature a senior in the starting lineup, but battled their way to a second place finish in the WCAC regular season before winning the WCAC Tournament Championship and the Alhambra Catholic Invitational title. Despite a busy non-conference schedule, the Stags’ only non-conference loss came to eventual national champions Montverde Academy (Montverde, Florida).